Have you been charged with a misdemeanor in Virginia? Even though these crimes are relatively minor, they can still be accompanied by frustrating penalties. A misdemeanor is typically a crime punishable by less than 12 months in jail. It’s less serious than a felony in the eyes of the law, but a step above an infraction or ticket. Community service, probation, fines, and imprisonment for less than a year are commonly issued punishments for misdemeanors across the United States.
Many different states, including Virginia, classify all misdemeanors by grouping the more severe crimes into level 1, level 2, and so forth. Sometimes these classifications are referred to as Class A, Class B, and so on. Some states even use terms like “misdemeanor,” “high misdemeanor,” or “gross misdemeanor.”
What Are The Classes Of Misdemeanors In Virginia?
Understanding the varying classes of misdemeanors in Virginia will help you better understand the consequences for certain actions under state law. Misdemeanor classes are as follows:
Class 1 misdemeanor: In Virginia, class 1 misdemeanors are the most severe type of misdemeanor crime. This misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year in jail, a fine of $2500, or possibly both punishments compounded. Petit larceny and domestic violence are both class 1 misdemeanors under Virginia state law.
Class 2 misdemeanor: Class 2 misdemeanors are less severely punished than those under class 1. Class 2 misdemeanors typically come with a jail sentence of six months at maximum, a fine of $1,000, or both punishments compounded. Possession of a schedule IV drug is considered a class 2 misdemeanor in Virginia.
Class 3 and 4 misdemeanors: Class 3 and 4 misdemeanors are punishable only by fines. Fines range from anywhere between $250 to $500 for a class 3 or 4 misdemeanor. You will not be required to do jail time for an offense this minor under Virginia state law. Public intoxication is a class 4 misdemeanor in Virginia.
If you have been charged with any of the above misdemeanor crimes, contact criminal defense attorney Scott C. Nolan, PLLC as soon as possible. You will need to defend yourself before a judge and, with the help of a skilled criminal defense lawyer, you can fight back against your misdemeanor charges and ultimately aim to lessen the penalties you face.
What Is The Statute Of Limitations In Virginia?
Most crimes are accompanied by a statute of limitations. A statute of limitations is a designated time frame in which VIrginia state court must begin a criminal proceeding. Within this time frame, a defendant can seek to have their charges dropped and their case subsequently dismissed. Additionally, you cannot pursue a claim, such as a personal injury lawsuit claim after a car accident, once this statute of limitations has expired.
In Virginia, the statute of limitations for getting a misdemeanor charge case dismissed is typically one year from the date of the original offense. The statute of limitations can change depending on the nature of the crime committed, however, so be sure to double check the time restrictions with your criminal defense attorney.
How Does A Lawyer Help Me Fight A Misdemeanor Charge?
If you’re innocent of the criminal charge against you, The Law Office of Scott C. Nolan, PLLC will negotiate to have the charge dropped or the case dismissed. If your case goes to trial, he will explain to a jury exactly what happened and why you should be acquitted. As long as the time frame is within VIrginia state’s statute of limitations, The Law Office of Scott C. Nolan, PLLC can help you fight back.
As an experienced criminal defense lawyer, The Law Office of Scott C. Nolan, PLLC can help collect evidence, speak with witnesses, and build a strong case for your defense to prove that you shouldn’t have to suffer unnecessarily harsh penalties. The sooner you call The Law Office of Scott C. Nolan, PLLC, the sooner you can get started fighting back against your misdemeanor charge in Virginia.
Schedule A Free Consultation With Virginia Attorney Scott C. Nolan, PLLC As Soon As Possible
If you have been accused of a misdemeanor, it’s wise to contact an attorney as soon as possible. The Law Office of Scott C. Nolan, PLLC also handles cases that are more severe than a misdemeanor, including violent crimes such as assault, battery, domestic violence, and other serious felony charges; drug crimes including the possession, sale, distribution, manufacture, or cultivation of illegal substances; burglary and other theft crimes; white-collar crimes and cybercrimes; and hit-and-run and other serious traffic charges.
If you or someone you love is facing a criminal charge in the state of Virginia, you need to act fast to keep your record clear. Schedule your free, no-obligation consultation with The Law Office of Scott C. Nolan, PLLC as soon as possible.